Bear Scouts


  A child who is 9 years old or is in the third grade is a Bear, and their adventures are found in the Bear Handbook. Like all other new Cub Scouts, a Bear must first earn the Bobcat badge. After completing the requirements for Bobcat (unless earned as a Tiger or Wolf), they go on to complete the requirements for the Bear rank. Bear Scouts work toward the Bear rank. The Bear rank is earned by completing seven adventures as described below.

Bear Required Adventures

  Complete each of the following Bear required adventures with your den or family:

  1. Bear Claws
  2. Bear Necessities
  3. Fellowship and Duty to God
  4. Fur, Feathers and Ferns
  5. Grin and Bear It
  6. Paws for Action

Bear Elective Adventures


Complete one Bear elective adventure of your den or family’s choosing.

  1. A Bear Goes Fishing
  2. A World of Sound
  3. Baloo the Builder
  4. Bear Picnic Basket
  5. Beat of the Drum
  6. Critter Care
  7. Forensics
  8. Make It Move
  9. Marble Madness
  10. Roaring Laughter
  11. Robotics
  12. Salmon Run
  13. Super Science

With your parent or adult partner, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide, and earn the Cyber Chip award for your age.